top of page


Updated: Mar 15

The Ballet Story "Sleeping Beauty" is a classic fairy tale that was adapted into ballet by Russian composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky and French choreographer Marius Petipa. It was first performed at the Mariinsky Theater in Saint Petersburg, Russia on January 15, 1890.

Sleeping Beauty

The libretto of the ballet is based on the French fairy tale by Charles Perrault, published in 1697. The story tells of a princess named Aurore who is cursed by the evil fairy Carabosse. According to the curse, the princess will prick her finger on a spindle and fall into a deep sleep, which will last for a hundred years. Only a prince's kiss can wake her up.

The ballet is made up of three acts and has a magnificent score created by Tchaikovsky. The music has become extremely popular and is often performed independently of ballet. Some of the most famous ballet dances include the Pas de six, the Pas de Caractère, the Pas de deux of Prince Désiré and Aurore, and the grand finale of the wedding.

The premiere of the ballet La Belle au bois dormant was not immediately successful. However, over the years it has become one of the most beloved and performed ballets worldwide. The classic style and the beauty of the sets and costumes make it an enchanting spectacle.

The ballet "La Belle au bois dormant" has been adapted by many choreographers over the years, each adding their own vision and variations. The best known and most often performed version is that of Marius Petipa, who laid the foundations of classical choreography for this ballet.

Today, "Sleeping Beauty" remains a mainstay of the classical ballet repertoire and continues to captivate audiences with its romantic story, haunting music and elegant choreography. It is a timeless ballet that continues to inspire admiration and wonder from audiences around the world.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page